until next time. 

you fought like a warrior, as you always do, but our spaghetti dinner still sits on the shelves of a grocery store waiting to be made. 
“you found me, you found me, you found me.”

last weekend, I went to see my papa early in the morning to steal some time all to myself. he was in the dining room for breakfast when I got there, and I will never forget the look on his face when he saw me. he held onto me, squeezing and saying, you found me. 
my papa found me before I could walk, or talk. he found me as his little girl, paying no attention to society. 
that morning, I wheeled him back to his room. we sat and I started showing him pictures of my life the past couple months. he quietly listened, and gave a notorious papa laugh when I would tell a fun story. 
knowing he was fading fast, even in that moment, he put his hand on top of mine. he looked me in the eyes and said, are you ok? I nodded, stifling back tears. is michael good to you? I nodded, as one tear fell from my eyes. are you doing what you love? I nodded and he wiped his tears with the hand that had not failed him yet. 
he smiled and asked if I could help him back to bed. I sat, holding his hand until he fell asleep. right before he closed his eyes, he squeezed my hand and said, I love you. I love you too papa. 
those were the very last words I ever heard my daddy say to me. there is hope in this brokenness. 
tuesday, in the early hours of the morning I kissed him, and whispered in his ear. I love you. the words were not returned this time, as Jesus had rescued him from pain, and brought him up to heaven. a holy sanctuary that most of us in this room, learned about, and grew from, from papa. 
save me one of those unforgettable hugs. I’ll find you, I’ll find you one day where we’ll spend an eternity together without brokenness. I can see the light in your face now. 

I read this, for my daddy, in front of hundreds of people yesterday all grieving his loss. Then, my cousin, brother, and I went and drank a Jack Daniel in his honor. I bet he smiled down at us. 

Jack Daniel Taylor, you will forever be apart of our lives. 

Leave a Reply

